Champions League orgasnisers extend deadline for naming final squad

The 12 competing teams of the Champions League got a breather on Thursday when the tournament’s governing council extended the deadline for naming of the initial squads to next Monday.

Accordingly, the teams will now announce their 20-member squad by August 24 and prune it to 15-member by September 9, the organisers of the tournament said in a release.

“In fairness to all teams, the CLT20 Governing Council decided to give all teams extra time to name their initial squads,” Champions League chairman Lalit Modi said.

“With Somerset and Sussex only qualifying for the tournament last weekend, we felt it was important to give them and the other competing teams as much time as practical to finalise their playing lists for the tournament. Given the number of players who have qualified for multiple teams and the $ 2.5 million first prize, the stakes are high for all teams,” he said.

Under the rules, if a player chooses to play for his ‘away’ team rather than his ‘home’ team — the side from his country will be given two working days to nominate a replacement player.

‘Home’ teams will also receive $200,000 compensation for each of their players selected by ‘away’ teams.

The nine players who qualify to play for more than one team are Nathan Bracken (NSW Blues, Royal Challenger Bangalore), Brendon McCullum (Otago Volts, NSW Blues), Dirk Nannes (Victorian Bushrangers, Delhi Daredevils), David Warner (NSW Blues, Delhi Daredevils), Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers, RC Bangalore), Andrew McDonald (Victorian Bushrangers, Delhi Daredevils), Herchelle Gibbs (Cape Cobras, Deccan Chargers), Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba, Delhi Daredevils) and Dwayne Smith (Deccan Chargers, Sussex Sharks).

Champions League Governing Council member Dean Kino said the organisers would get a clear idea by Monday about the team compositions.

“Between now and Monday, we expect there will be a lot of discussion between players and teams regarding their participation in the tournament. Teams will need to be very deliberate with their selections because they will have to pay $200,000 compensation for each ‘away’ player they select who has elected not to play for his ‘home’ team, regardless of whether they make the final cut of 15,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *