Champions League Twenty20 names CEO and Tournament Director

The Governing Council of the Champions League Twenty20 has appointed Sundar Raman, the Chief Executive Officer, and Dhiraj Malhotra, the Tournament Director, for the inaugural tournament to be held from December 3 to 10, 2008.

Champions League Governing Council also appointed the entire management team with the best of talent from across the founding member boards. Australian Dean Kino, was appointed Director Legal and Business Affairs and Michael Brown, General Manager Cricket Operations and South African Brian Bassson, Cricket Programming and Logistics. Other appointments include Radhika Moolraj, Assistant to the Chairman, Poorna Patel, Manager Hospitality, Leila Mallya, Public Relations Manager, Nidhi Chaudhary, Operations Director and Venue Manager, and Preeti Mehta and Russell Adams, both venue managers.

Lalit Modi, Chairman of the Champions League Twenty20, while making the announcements said, “It gives me great pleasure to make the appointments to these important positions for the Champions League Twenty20. The organisational infrastructure for the Champions League Twenty20 has taken shape. They constitute a highly resourceful and talented team and have done a wonderful job managing cricket for the respective boards. I am confident that they will bring to bear all their experience to make the Champions League Twenty20 a huge success.”

Sundar Raman, is currently the Chief Operating Officer of the Indian Premier League and played a crucial role in the highly successful organisation of the IPL earlier this year. He has been working on Champions League ever since IPL inaugural edition concluded. He will take on this responsibility in addition to his role with IPL.

Dhiraj Malhotra, an ex-army officer was also the Tournament Director for IPL and has been with the International Cricket Council for the last 3 years. He has worked on the inaugural T20 world cup in South. Africa and also the world cup in West Indies. In addition he has worked on various Champion Trophies and under-19 world cups

Eight teams, consisting of the reigning winners and runners-up from the domestic Twenty20 competitions in India, Australia and South Africa, plus the reigning Twenty20 champion Sialkot from Pakistan, and the reigning Twenty20 Cup champion from England, Middlesex, have been invited to contest the 2008 Champions Twenty20 League.

The tournament offers teams US$6 million of prize money, the biggest prize money in the world for cricket at a domestic competition level. The prize money, including US$3 million for the winning team, will be shared equally between the teams and their players.

The Governing Council of the event and its founding cricket boards believe the significant prize money to be paid to teams and players will ensure that the benefits of the event will foster cricket’s development by injecting new funding into domestic-level cricket and at the same time will handsomely reward domestic-level cricketers and provide a unique opportunity for a higher public profile for players at the level below international cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *