Dirk Nannes to play for Delhi Daredevils in Champions League

Australian Dirk Nannes will represent his ‘away’ team Delhi Daredevils in the inaugural Champions League Twenty20, a move that would cost the Indian Premier League side US $200,000.

Of the nine cricketers eligible to play for multiple teams, only Nannes was nominated in the preliminary squads of both, Daredevils and Victorian Bushrangers.

“Dirk Nannes, who was nominated by both the Delhi Daredevils and the Victorian Bushrangers, has informed Champions League Twenty20 that he will play for his ‘away’ team, the Delhi Daredevils, rather than his ‘home’ team, the Victorian Bushrangers,” Dean Kino, a CLT20 Governing Council Member, said.

“As a result, Delhi is required to pay USD 200,000 compensation to Victoria according to regulations. The other players who were eligible for multiple teams will compete for their ‘home’ teams in the tournament, while Dwayne Smith who was considered an ‘away’ player for both Deccan and Sussex, will represent his English team,” Keno added.

Champions League Twenty20 Preliminary Squads

Besides Nannes and Smith, other cricketers who faced the loyalty dilemma were Nathan Bracken (NSW Blues, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Brendon McCullum (Otago Bolts, NSW Blues), David Warner (NSW Blues, Delhi Daredevils), Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Andrew McDonald (Victorian Bushrangers, Delhi Daredevils), Herschelle Gibbs (Cape Cobras, Deccan Chargers) and Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba, Delhi Daredevils).

After the 12 teams submitted their preliminary squads for the October 8-23 event, the organisers said of the 234 players nominated, 110 have played international cricket.

“The announcement of the preliminary squads ensures the first Champions League Twenty20 will be a true contest between the best of the best. A congregation of the world’s best players, playing for the world’s best domestic teams, vying for the ultimate prize to be crowned Champions – we could not have asked for anything more,” chairman of the CLT20 Governing Council Lalit Modi said.

“The calibre of players named by the competing teams is extraordinary. We have World Cup champions, both in 50-over and Twenty20 cricket, international captains, legends of the game and some of the world’s top-ranked players,” he added.

Teams now have until September 7 to trim their squads to 15 ahead of the tournament.

Illustrating the quality of the world-class squads that have been named, New South Wales Blues and the Delhi Daredevils will each be capable of playing a team wholly comprising of international players.

Wayamba, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Victorian Bushrangers meanwhile have 10 internationals each in their ranks.

The other teams have equally impressive line-ups. Trinidad & Tobago and Sussex feature nine players with international experience, while the Cape Cobras and Deccan Chargers have eight, Otago has seven and the Diamond Eagles and Somerset have four apiece.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *