South Africa to host Champions League Twenty20

He was not a part of the meeting that made the decision but that has not stopped the Champions League Governing Council to quote under-fire chairman Lalit Modi while announcing on Sunday that the Twenty20 tournament would be held in South Africa this year.

“The Airtel Champions League Twenty20 Governing Council today announced that this year’s tournament will be held in South Africa from September 10 to 26,” CLT20 said in a statement.

The Governing Council accepted Cricket South Africa’s offer to host the tournament in a meeting held here on Saturday.

Modi did not participate in the CL T20 meeting and it was seen as a snub to the IPL commissioner, who might be forced out of the job in the IPL governing council meeting. Modi is facing charges of financial irregularities but has remained defiant.

“South Africa is considered an ideal CLT20 host after successfully staging the Indian Premier League and ICC World Twenty20 tournaments in recent years, as well as the strong support shown for its domestic Pro20 Series competition,” the release quoted Modi as saying.

IPL finalists Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings and third-place finishers Royal Challengers Bangalore have qualified for CL T20 while other competing teams and the venues for the competition would be finalised in the coming weeks.

Australia’s New South Wales had won the inaugural edition of the event held in India last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *