IPL 4: Chennai Super Kings vs Deccan Chargers – Live IPL Score

Indian Premier League

IPL Cricket

Deccan Chargers have sweet memories of Chennai. They had beaten the defending champions here twice. But Chennai Super Kings are on a roll and given their current form, it can be expected that the Chargers won’t be lucky a third time at Chepauk.

Times have changed though and at the moment it looks pretty difficult for Kumar Sangakkara’s boys, who have lost four out of seven matches in the IPL 4 so far, to maintain their old form and get the better of CSK when they take on each other at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday evening.

CSK, after losing three matches in the initial stages, had created some problems but their two back-to-back wins against Pune Warriors helped them shake it off and get back into the rhythm once again.

CSK are one of the most balanced sides in the tournament and their local pool is among the best. The likes of MS Dhoni, M Vijay, S Badrinath, Suresh Raina and R Ashwin form a formidable combination and each of them has the ability to win matches single-handedly.

Former Tamil Nadu captain Badrinath, a brilliant middle-order batman for CSK, has been scoring tons of runs in the domestic circuit for several years and now has carried his good form into the IPL.

Badri’s magnificent effort (71 off 48), though in a losing cause against table-toppers Mumbai Indians, was praiseworthy. Vijay and his opening partner Michael Hussey have been doing a great job.

Hussey, who had joined the team after coming back from a short Bangladesh ODI tour, has been scoring runs on a regular basis and CSK have benefited a lot from the Aussie’s presence at the top.

Though the Chargers have won their previous match against Kochi Tuskers in a big way, the champion team in the 2009 edition, has been struggling with form and lost four out of seven matches they have played so far.

Teams (from):

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c), Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Michael Hussey, Albie Morkel, Ben Hilfenhaus, Doug Bollinger, G Bailey, Tim Southee, F du Plessis, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Joginder Sharma, Yo Mahesh, A Mukund, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, K Vasudevadas, G Vignesh.

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (c), Ashish Reddy, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Daniel Christian, Kedar Devdhar, Shikhar Dhawan, Jean Paul Duminy, Manpreet Gony, Harmeet Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Michael Lumb, Chris Lynn, Ishan Malhotra, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ravi Teja, Jaydev Shah, Ishant Sharma, Sunny Sohal, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Cameron White, Arjun Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *