IPL 4: Paul Valthaty ton pulls off superb chase

Paul Valthaty hit an unbeaten 63-ball 120 as Kings XI Punjab beat Chennai Super Kings by 6 wickets in their IPL match at PCA stadium in Mohali on Wednesday.

Valthaty smashed 2 sixes and 19 fours in his superb knock and Dinesh Karthik hit a six and 2 fours in his 11-ball 21 as the hosts chased down the 189-run victory target in 19.1 overs.

Valthaty reached his century off 52 balls.

Shaun Marsh hit 12 before he was run out.

Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist hit 2 fours in his 15-ball 19 before falling to Morne Morkel.

Chasing 189, Valthaty and Gilchrist brought up the Kings XI Punjab’s 50 in the sixth over.

Earlier, half-centuries by Subramaniam Badrinath and Murali Vijay and a late onslaught by MS Dhoni powered Chennai Super Kings to 188/4.

Badrinath remained unbeaten at 66 that came off 56 balls with the help of 8 fours and Dhoni’s 20-ball 43 was studded with 2 sixes and 4 fours.

Badrinath and Vijay came together at the crease when the defending champions were tottering at 2/0 but in a brilliant counter-attack took the Punjab bowlers to the cleaners with a 124-run partnership.

Vijay smashed 4 sixes and 6 fours in his 43-ball 74 before he was stumped by Adam Gilchrist off Piyush Chawla.

Praveen Kumar dismissed Srikkanth Anirudha and Suresh Raina for duck in the very first over of the innings to give early jolts to Chennai Super Kings.

Praveen struck in the first ball of the innings as he trapped Srikkanth plumb in front with a peach of an in-swinging delivery.

Praveen got rid of Raina in the very next ball who gave an easy catch to Paul Valthaty at mid-wicket.

Chennai were stuttering at 6/2 after the end of 3 overs.

Earlier, Kings XI Punjab skipper Adam Gilchrist won the toss and decided to field against Chennai Super Kings.


Kings XI Punjab: AC Gilchrist (capt and wk), SE Marsh, KD Karthik, Sunny Singh, AM Nayar, PC Valthaty, R McLaren, P Kumar, RJ Harris, PP Chawla, BA Bhatt

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), M Vijay, S Anirudha, S Badrinath, SK Raina, SB Styris, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, SB Jakati, TG Southee, S Randiv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *