IPL 2011: Kolkata Knight Riders beat Deccan Chargers by 20 runs

Rajat Bhatia and Iqbal Abdulla took 2 wickets each after Yusuf Pathan’s 25-ball 47 as Kolkata Knight Riders beat Deccan Chargers by 20 runs in their IPL match at Rajiv Gandhi International stadium in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Chasing a stiff victory target of 170 runs, Deccan managed 149/6 in 20 overs.

Jacques Kallis and Brett Lee dismissed Shikhar Dhawan and Ravi Teja respectively in successive overs to put Kolkata on the verge of victory.

Teja hit 3 fours in his 22-ball 30 before he was clean bowled by Lee and in the next over Dhawan walked way too across and the Kallis delivery uprooted his off-stump.

Dhawan hit a six and 4 fours in his 45-ball 54.

Rajat Bhatia dismissed Cameron White and Daniel Christian in one over to place Deccan Chargers at 70/4 in 11 overs.

Deccan lost their third wicket when Cameron White went for a big hit against Bhatia but missed the slower delivery and was clean bowled.

Christian was unlucky to be given out four deliveries later as he was adjudged leg before wicket even though he edged a Bhatia delivery onto his pads.

Iqbal Abdulla dismissed Sunny Sohal and Kumar Sangakkara in one over to place Deccan Chargers at 41/2 in 6 overs.

Abdulla first had Sohal caught by Eoin Morgan at cover point and two deliveries later had Sangakkara caught by Jacques Kallis at deep mid-wicket.

Earlier, Yusuf Pathan’s 25-ball 47, Gautam Gambhir’s 35 and Manoj Tiwary’s 33 powered Knight Riders to 169/4.

Pathan, who was dropped thrice, hit 3 sixes and 3 fours in his unbeaten knock and it was his 80-run partnership with Tiwary that took Kolkata to a formidable total.

Tiwary hit a six and 3 fours in his knock before Dale Steyn had him caught by Shikhar Dhawan at deep cover.

Pragyan Ojha scalped Gambhir after Amit Mishra dismissed Jacques Kallis in the previous over to deliver a double blow to Kolkata.

Mishra struck in his first over when he had Kallis caught by Ravi Teja at long-off and in the next over Ojha had Gambhir caught behind by captain Kumar Sangakkara.

Gambhir hit a six and 3 fours in his 22-ball 35 before falling to Ojha.

Daniel Christian gave Deccan the first breakthrough when he clean bowled Eoin Morgan with a slower delivery.

Morgan hit a six in his 15-ball 14 before falling to Christian.

The breakthrough came after Sangakkara won the toss and chose to bowl.

Deccan have brought in Dale Steyn in place of Harmeet Singh.

For Kolkata, Jaidev Unadkat is in for Sreevats Goswami, and Mark Boucher replaces Ryan ten Doeschate.

The wicket looks hard and has some grass on it.

Sangakkara hopes that his pace duo of Steyn and Ishant Sharma will do some damage with the new ball.


Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (Capt.), Sunny Sohal, Shikhar Dhawan, Cameron White, Daniel Christian, Ravi Teja, Bharat Chipli, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Dale Steyn.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Mark Boucher, Rajat Bhatia, Iqbal Abdulla, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Brett Lee, Jaidev Unadkat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *