IPL 2011: Delhi Daredevils beat Kings XI Punjab by 29 runs

A superb batting performance by Virender Sehwag and David Warner enabled Delhi Daredevils to register a 29-run win over Kings XI Punjab in their IPL match at the Ferozeshah Kotla in Delhi on Saturday.

Chasing a huge victory target of 232 runs, Punjab batted well to score 202/6.

Shaun Marsh’s 46-ball 95 was studded with 6 sixes and 9 fours and as long as he was present at the crease, a Kings XI victory did not look impossible. But the Australian southpaw fell when he edged a Morne Morkel delivery high up in the air for Virender Sehwag to take the catch in front of mid-off.

Marsh hit a 27-ball fifty even as Kings XI Punjab lost Adam Gilchrist and Dinesh Karthik in quick succession.

Punjab lost their fourth wicket when James Hopes had David Hussey caught by Virender Sehwag at deep mid-wicket. Hussey hit 2 sixes in his 10-ball 20.

Gilchrist hit a six and 8 fours in his 33-ball 42 before he was clean bowled by Varun Aaron.

Ajit Agarkar then had Karthik caught by Virender Sehwag at mid-wicket.

Paul Valthaty hit 2 sixes in his 10-ball 14 before Irfan Pathan had him caught by Yogesh Nagar at backward point.

Earlier, Virender Sehwag and David Warner hit 77 each to power Delhi Daredevils to 231/4.

Venugopal Rao hit a six and 3 fours in his unbeaten 15-ball 28 and he was ably partnered by Naman Ojha who hit 2 sixes and a four in his unbeaten 8-ball 19.

Warner’s knock that came off 35 balls, was studded with 4 sixes and 8 fours.

Sehwag hit a 35-ball 77 before David Hussey had him caught by Dinesh Karthik at long-on.

Sehwag smashed 4 sixes and 8 fours in his blitzkrieg knock. Three of those sixes came off successive deliveries off Hussey before the Australian had the last laugh by dismissing him.

Warner and Sehwag smashed quickfire half-centuries to build a great platfom for a formidable total.

Sehwag reached his half-century off 28 balls soon after Warner hit a 29-ball half-century as the explosive openers brought up the Delhi Daredevils’ 100 in the ninth over.

The fiery start was after Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist won the toss and chose to bowl.

Punjab have brought in David Hussey in place of Ryan McLaren.

Delhi have replaced Ashok Dinda and Shahbaz Nadeem with Varun Aaron and Ajit Agarkar.

The Kotla pitch is a green one, but Gilchrist thinks it will play pretty well throughout. He also says that his team has chased well in a couple of matches and is confident of doing so again.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Capt.), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Yogesh Nagar, Naman Ojha, Venugopal Rao, Irfan Pathan, James Hopes, Ajit Agarkar, Morne Morkel, Varun Aaron.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (Capt.), Paul Valthaty, Shaun Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, David Hussey, Dinesh Karthik, Sunny Singh, Ryan Harris, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Shalabh Srivastava.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *