Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 24 runs

Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 24 runs in the eighth match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at Newlands in Cape Town on Wednesday.

Chasing a victory target of 185 runs, Bangalore managed 160/8 in their 20 overs to taste their second defeat and give Deccan Chargers their second victory of the tournament.

Deccan Chargers captain Adam Gilchrist was adjudged the Man of the Match for his swashbuckling knock.

After the match, Rahul Dravid was presented with the orange cap for being the leading run scorer in the tournament and RP Singh was presented the purple cap for being the highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

Delhi lad Virat Kohli top scored for Bangalore with a fighting knock of 50 that came off 32 balls with the help of 7 fours. Kohli was the last man to be dismissed when he hit a RP Singh delivery to long on for Herschelle Gibbs to take the catch.

Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals even though Dravid, with 2 sixes and 5 fours to his credit in his superb knock of 48, tried his best to bail out his side.

Pragyan Ojha tooked the prized wicket of Bangalore captain Kevin Pietersen (11) when he induced his outside the crease with a flighted delivery, but deceived him in the flight to have him stumped by Gilchrist.

Bangalore Royal Challengers were 57/3 in 10 overs.

Bangalore got off to the worst start possible losing Jesse Ryder on the very first delivery of their run chase when West Indian Fidel Edwards struck with a scorching yorker at 149.1 kmph to rattle Ryder’s off stump.

Jacques Kallis hit 3 fours in his 15-run knock that came off 14 balls before he was caught in the covers by Rohit Sharma off RP Singh in the 4th over.

Bangalore lost their third wicket in the 8th over when Robin Uthappa (12) pulls a Scott Styris delivery to deep mid-wicket for Ravi Teja to take a running catch.

Earlier, led by blazing knocks from captain Adam Gilchrist and Rohit Sharma, Deccan Chargers scored 184/6 in 20 overs.

Gilchrist hit a blitzkrieg 45-ball 71 studded with 5 sixes and 6 fours while Rohit hit 5 sixes and a four in his 52-run knock that came off 30 balls.

Bangalore Royal Challengers captain Kevin Pietersen took 2 wickets but that wasn’t enough to stop the Deccan run charge.

Gilchrist played a sublime knock reminding everyone that he is still good enough for international cricket, while Rohit restrained himself till Gilchrist was the crease and took charge of the proceedings only after the dismissal of his captain.

The three sixes that Rohit hit off Anil Kumble in one over gave an insight into the abundant talent of the young batsman, who raced to his fifth IPL fifty off just 28 balls.

The end of Rohit’s innings came when he hit to mid-on for Pietersen to take the catch off Dale Steyn.

Gilchrist was caught in the covers by Virat Kohli off Pietersen but not before setting the stands ablaze.

Deccan Chargers lost two wickets but Gilchrist hit a swashbuckling half-century to take his team to 91/2 in 10 overs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Gilchrist reached his 50 off 31 deliveries with the help of 3 sixes and 6 fours.

Jesse Ryder, who was not played in the last match, struck with his first ball when he had VVS Laxman (5) caught by Dale Steyn at long off.

Praveen Kumar took some beating from Gilchrist before he changed ends and trapped Herschelle Gibbs plumb in front of the wicket. Gibbs hit a six and a four in his 13-run knock that came off 7 balls.

Bangalore have replaced R Vinay Kumar and Ross Taylor with Karan Sharma and Jesse Ryder.


Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Capt.), Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, VVS Laxman, Rohit Sharma, Venugopal Rao, Harmeet Singh, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh, Ravi Teja, Fidel Edwards.

Bangalore Royal Challengers: Kevin Pietersen (Capt.), Jesse Ryder, Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Karan Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Anil Kumble, Dale Steyn, Rajesh Bishnoi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *