Delhi Daredevils snap losing streak with victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore

IPL Cricket

Kedar Jadhav’s breezy unbeaten half-century and some immaculate bowling fashioned Delhi Daredevils’ 17-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore, thus snapping their losing streak in the Indian Premier League on Friday.

Put in to bat, Delhi piled up a challenging 183 for four, thanks to Jadhav’s unbeaten 29-ball 50 and AB de Villiers’ 45 off 35 ball.

Walking out to defend the total, the Daredevils restricted the Bangalore team to 166 for nine in 20 overs at the floodlit M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

It was a welcome victory for the Delhi side which had lost its last three matches on the trot.

Manish Pandey made a 29-ball 39 and Virat Kohli cracked an unbeaten 28-ball 33 but their efforts were not enough as the Delhi bowling order, led by Mishra (2/23), brought the visitors back in the match after RCB’s flying start.

Chasing a challenging 184-run target, Royals Challengers went off to a solid start with openers Pandey and South African Jacques Kallis (27) producing a 71-run partnership.

The hosts suffered the first loss in the 10th over when Kallis, who struck three fours during his 29-ball innings, misjudged a flighted delivery of Mishra and the ball crashed on to his stumps.

Australian fast-bowler Andrew McDonald struck in the next over removing Pandey, who hit four fours and a six before being clean bowled.

Bangalore, who were cruising towards the target, suddenly found them under pressure as they lost four wickets inside 19 runs.

Robin Uthappa (15 off 10), who started well cracking one four and a six, and Rahul Dravid (1) also failed to do much and returned to the dugout cheaply.

Uthappa tried a reverse-sweep but could not connect and gloved an easy catch to wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik.

Bangalore kept losing wickets in regular intervals as Eoin Morgan (17), Mark Boucher (2) and R Vinay Kumar (2) returned to the dressing room cheaply.

Despite Kohli’s fighting innings, Bangalore could reach 166 for nine with captain Anil Kumble giving company to him.

Earlier, opener David Warner gave Daredevils an explosive start cracking a 14-ball 33 with the help of three fours and two sixes, after Bangalore captain Anil Kumble put them in to bat at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The home side conceded 44 runs in the first five overs before R Vinay Kumar took a brilliant catch at long off area to remove dangerous Warner in the fourth over.

Vinay was again in the thick of action when he had Virender Sehwag (12), who hit two fours during his 11-ball stay, caught by Virat Kohli at backward point area.

AB de Villiers again pushed the Daredevils’ run rate up with a quickfire 45 off 35 balls, during which he struck three fours.

But it was plucky Jadhav who produced a quickfire innings, which was adorned with five fours and two sixes.

Andrew McDonlad remained unbeaten with 18 off 12 balls after raising 49 runs for the fifth wicket with Jadhav, which came off just 23 balls.

For the Bangalore side, Vinay Kumar took one wicket for 29 runs while speedster Dale Steyn also got one wicket giving away 42 runs in his four overs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *