IPL 2010: 26 Pakistan cricketers register for IPL auction

Former Indian Cricket League recruits like Shane Bond and Damien Martyn, 26 Pakistanis and four players from the Associate countries are among the 97 who have registered themselves for the third Indian Premier League auction to be held on January 19.

Apart from the injury-plagued Bond, who has quit Test cricket, and the completely-retired Martyn, other prominent ex-ICL players who have switched sides include Chris Cairns, Saqlain Mushtaq and Justin Kemp.

The Pakistanis who have registered for the auction include Twenty20 captain Shahid Afridi, dope-tainted pacer Mohammad Asif, exciting new pacer Mohammed Aamer and Umar Akmal.

The four registered players from the Associate countries are Rizwan Cheema and Khurram Chohan (Canada), Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands) and Niall O’Brien (Ireland).

The list of South African players interestingly has Nicky Boje’s name. The retired ex-ICL off-spinner was implicated in the 2000 match-fixing scandal and avoided touring India for a long time for fear of arrest before coming to play for the ICL.

The IPL will send the names to all the franchises, who will decide the shortlist for the final auction and players would be informed about it by Tuesday.

Franchises can include a maximum of 10 foreign players in their teams.

Over 100 players had registered for the auction last year, of which only 50 were auctioned to fill 17 vacant slots in the teams.

While the registered Pakistani players have made themselves available for the entire duration of the IPL, those from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa have been marked free only at the end of their respective domestic seasons.

The registered players:

Pakistan: Mohammed Aamer, Shahid Afridi, Shahzad Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Yasir Arafat, Mohammad Asif, Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Khalil, Abdur Rauf, Khalid Latif, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Khurram Manzoor, Saqlain Mushtaq, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Imran Nazir, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Sami.

Sri Lanka: Malinga Bandara, Indika de Saram, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suranga Lakmal, Jehan Mubarak, Thisara Perera, Dammika Prasad, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Gihan Rupasinghe, Upul Tharanga, Kaushalya Weeraratne, ChanakaWelegedara.

South Africa: Yusuf Abdulla, Nicky Boje, Zander de Bruyn, Tyron Henderson, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Andre Nel, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Johan van der Wath, CJ de Villiers.

New Zealand: Shane Bond, Ian Butler, Chris Cairns, Brendon Diamanti, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Nathan McCullum, Daryl Tuffey, Lou Vincent.

West Indies: Carlton Baugh, Tino Best, Daren Ganga, Wavell Hinds, Kieron Pollard, Kemar Roach, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons.

Australia: Brad Haddin, Phillip Hughes, Ashley Noffke, Jason Krejza, Ben Laughlin, Graham Manou, Damien Martyn, Clint McKay, Adam Voges.

England: Tim Bresnan, Anthony McGrath, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar, Adil Rashid, Jonathan Trott Usman Afzaal, James Foster.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan, Shahriar Nafees.

Canada: Rizwan Cheema, Khurram Chohan.

Zimbabwe: Murray Goodwin, Ray Price.

Ireland: Niall O’Brien

Netherlands: Ryan ten Doeschate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *