IPL 2014 to be held from April 16 to June 1; first leg to be played in UAE

The highly-anticipated decision over the venues for the upcoming season of the IPL 2014 has finally been taken. The seventh edition of the cash-rich T20 tournament will be played in three legs, starting on April 16.

The first leg will commence on April 16 and go on till the end of the month and include 16 matches to be played in United Arab Emirates. The next leg from May 1 to May 12 will be conducted either in Bangladesh or India while the final leg, which will include the important fixtures like the qualifiers, eliminators and the final (on June 1) will be held in India.

According to a BCCI press release, the board has approached the Ministry of Union Ministry of Home Affairs, seeking permission to play IPL matches in cities where the polling has concluded in the respective states. While BCCI is hoping for a favourable decision, Bangladesh have been kept as a standby venue for the second leg.

After the polling is concluded in all states by May 13, the final leg of the matches will be played in India for sure. BCCI has said there will be no match on May 16, the counting day.

The detailed schedule of matches is expected soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *