IPL 7: Chennai Super Kings squad for IPL 2014

Chennai Super Kings have been at the centre of all the controversy that has rocked the IPL in the last one year. There have been serious allegations made against the team, but one can’t deny that despite the chaos, there’s a sense of order in the team-building process of this franchise.

You may like: Live IPL 7 Score – Watch IPL 2014 Streaming Online

IPL 7: Chennai Super Kings squad for IPL 2014

IPL 7: Chennai Super Kings squad for IPL 2014

Retaining its core and finding correct replacements was CSK’s motif and they did that in the last auction. They have let go of regulars like Mike Hussey, Albie Morkel, M Vijay and S Badrinath, because the management thought these players might have already given their best for the team. And the replacements like Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Samuel Badree are match-winners.

The team, of course, revolves around the star power and leadership skills of MS Dhoni. He, along with trusted lieutenant Suresh Raina and all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, make CSK the most potent unit of the league.

All-rounders, in fact, are the side’s biggest assets and CSK are blessed to have Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin. Be it the spinner-friendly pitches of UAE or the familiar Chepauk, these two are match-winners who lend a lot of depth to the side.

The pace bowling department has been an area of concern for the team at times, but the management has been judicious in its choices. Ashish Nehra wasn’t exactly a popular choice among the fans, but the Super Kings bosses had clearly noted the fact that Nehra had played quite a few first-class matches this season.

Fitness isn’t a concern for the veteran left-armer and coach Stephen Fleming feels that Nehra’s vast experience is bound to benefit the franchise.

With Bravo already there, the likes of Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey and Ben Hilfenhaus will complete the pace attack and one can be rest assured CSK will once again be the team to beat.

Chennai Super Kings squad for IPL 7: MS Dhoni (c/wk), Suresh Raina, Baba Aparajith, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Faf Du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Chandra Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Samuel Badree, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, Pawan Negi, Mithun Manhas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *