IPL inspired Karnataka Premier League, a T20 inter-district cricket

The Karnataka State Cricket Association on Friday launched the Karnataka Premier League, a T20 inter-district tournament, set to kick off on September 12.

KSCA president S Narasimharaja Wadiyar and secretary Brijesh Patel made this announcement here. Karnataka captain Robin Uthappa and former India stars, Syed Kirmani and EAS Prasanna, all praised the initiative.

Speaking on the occasion, Patel said: “It’s a historic day. When we organized an All-India T20 tournament in the past, in the days when the BCCI was against the T20 format, we threw up a few good talented players. Now we hope to become some sort of feeder line to the IPL teams.”

Incidentally, the KSCA secretary was of the view that this being a regional tournament, there was no need to seek the BCCI’s approval. There will be eight teams in all, each owned by a franchisee who will represent one of 10 zones earmarked by the KSCA. The minimum bid amount per franchise is to be Rs 20 lakh, with the player fee capped at Rs 6 lakh for 14 Karnataka-based players. A window has been left open for the big bucks, with three non-Karnataka players allowed per team, to whom no budget shall apply.

“I have spoken to some IPL franchisees and we are trying to work out a system wherein they will send their players at no-cost basis,” said Patel, who happens to be the CEO of the Royal Challengers.

By this time next week the KSCA will be ready with a list of top 40 players from the state. They will be up for auction on August 8. Each team can pick five players from the pool of 40 but they don’t have too much money to play around with here, a total of only Rs 4 lakh being available to the franchisee.

The teams will play each once before the top four teams meet in the semis. All matches will be played at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *