IPL will be 10-team league in 2011

Buoyed by the success of the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), its chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi said the eight-team tournament will be expanded to 10 teams in 2011.

Modi said the IPL will be back in India next year and the cramped International Cricket Council (ICC) schedule does not leave any room for the possibility of a second IPL in a calendar year in 2010.

“We have been missing India but we have made a strong fan base in South Africa. We have a tight schedule next year. We will have two more teams in the league,” said Modi.

Modi, who is also the vice president of the Indian cricket board, said that organising the IPL in South Africa was a great experience.

“We had a great time in South Africa. Everything was perfect. I am satisfied with the way the tournament was successfully conducted here at such a short time,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *