Kings XI Punjab announce IPL 2009 squad

After inducting England batsman Ravi Bopara at three times his base price and West Indian pacer Jerome Taylor in their ranks, Kings XI Punjab has announced their squad for the second edition of the Indian Premier League.

Bopara was bought by the Mohali team for USD 450,000 while Taylor cost them USD 150,000.

With the duo in their squad, Kings XI now have six Australians, two Sri Lankans, an English player and a West Indian cricketer which makes their quota of 10 international players, a media release said.

The international Players are Brett Lee (Fast bowler), James Hopes (All rounder), Shaun Marsh (batsman), Luke Pomersbach (batsman), Simon Katich (batsman), Burt Cockley (fast bowler) – all from Australia – Kumar Sangakkara (batsman/wicketkeeper), Mahela Jayawardene (batsman) – both from Sri Lanka – England’s Ravi Bopara (all-rounder) and West Indies’ Jereme Taylor (fast bowler).

Team India Players: Yuvraj Singh (batsman), Irfan Pathan (all rounder), S Sreesanth (fast bowler), R Powar (off spinner), VRV Singh (fast bowler) and Piyush Chawla (leg spinner).

Indian Domestic Players: Karan Goel (batsman), Uday Kaul (batsman/wicketkeeper), Wilkin Mota (all rounder), Ajitesh Argal (medium pacer), Tanmay Srivastava (batsman), Sunny Sohal (batsman), Sahil Kukreja (batsman), Ryan Ninan (all rounder) and Yash Gandhi (batsman).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *