Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi refuses IPL governing council role

Indian Premier League

IPL Cricket

Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi is the second former India captain, after Sunil Gavaskar, to refuse a post on the IPL’s governing council. Pataudi and Gavaskar served on the league’s original council but decided not to be part of the reconstituted body after the BCCI said that council members would not be paid henceforth.

“I have written a letter to the BCCI which states that I do not wish to continue with the governing council,” Pataudi told the Indian Express. “Earlier I was on a contract with the IPL, but the new changes are unacceptable for me. So, I have decided to move on.”

Under the old system, headed by Lalit Modi, the three former cricketers on the council – Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri and Pataudi – were paid Rs 1 crore (approximately $220,000) for their services. The BCCI, however, said at its annual general meeting that members would no longer receive a salary. A day later, Gavaskar turned down the BCCI’s offer to be part of the governing council, saying he felt that the IPL was a commercial enterprise and those working for it should be remunerated

Doing away with salaries was only one of the wholesale changes the BCCI made to the league’s governing council. It dissolved the existing body and set up a new one with Chirayu Amin as the chairman. The council also included five other members – Arun Jaitley, Ranjib Biswal, Anurag Thakur, Ajay Shirke and Rajiv Shukla – and two former cricketers, one of whom was Shastri, who agreed to work in an honorary capacity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *