IPL 4: Kochi Tuskers stun Mumbai Indians by 8 wickets

Brendon McCullum (81) and Mahela Jayawardene (56) helped Kochi Tuskers stun Mumbai Indians by 8 wickets to register their maiden IPL victory at Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

Late charge by Ravindra Jadeja (25 not out) and Brad Hodge (11 not out) powered Kochi Tuskers to victory with an over to spare.

Jadeja smacked two sixes and two fours in his 11-ball cameo.

Chasing 183-run target, skipper Jayawardene added 128 runs for the opening wicket with McCullum to lead the Kochi run-chase.

Skipper Jayawardene slammed nine boundaries in his 36-ball quick-fire innings whereas McCullum paced his innings perfectly as he hit two sixes and ten boundaries in his 60-ball innings.

Earlier, Sachin Tendulkar (100 not out) smashed maiden IPL ton to help Mumbai Indians set 183-run target for Kochi Tuskers.

Tendulkar and Rayudu toyed with Kochi bowlers as they scored boundaries at will and added 116 runs for the second wicket.

Tendulkar was on dangerous mood from start as he hit three sixes and a dozen boundaries in his unbeaten 66-ball blitzkrieg. He took just 23 balls to race from fifty to hundred.

Ambati Rayudu (53) continued his destructive form from last match as he hit four sixes and three fours and raced to fifty in just 29 balls whereas Tendulkar took 43 balls to reach the landmark.

Mumbai lost opener Davy Jacobs (12) after a good start against Kochi Tuskers.

Jacobs played second fiddle to his senior partner Sachin Tendulkar as they added 61 runs for the opening stand before Raiphi Gomez clean bowled the wicket-keeper batsman in the ninth over.

Earlier, Kochi Tuskers skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and decided to field against Mumbai Indians on Friday.

Mumbai Indians have rested James Franklin and got in Andrew Symonds for the match whereas Kochi Tuskers made three changes.

Kochi have to unfortunately replaced injured VVS Laxman at the last minute. They have also left out Muralitharan and Sreesanth, and brought in Thisara Perera and Ramesh Powar. Kedar Jadhav is in for VVS Laxman.


Kochi Tuskers Kerala: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Brendon McCullum, Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Brad Hodge, Thisara Perera, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ramesh Powar, R Vinay Kumar, Kedar Jadav, Raiphi Gomez.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (capt.), Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Andrew Symonds, Davy Jacobs (wk), Ali Murtuza, Ambati Rayudu, R Satish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *