Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets

IPL Cricket

Sachin Tendulkar’s 72, Shikhar Dhawan’s 56 and Kieron Pollard’s 9-ball 20 took Mumbai Indians to a five-wicket victory over Chennai Super Kings in their IPL clash at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday.

Leading from the front, Mumbai Indians captain Tendulkar hit a half-century off 40 balls. Tendulkar eventually fell for 72 after hitting a six and 8 fours in his 52-ball knock.

Tendulkar’s half-century came after Shadab Jakati and Muttiah Muralitharan dismissed Shikhar Dhawan and Saurabh Tiwary respectively in successive overs to deliver a double blow to Mumbai Indians.

Jakati gave Chennai Super Kings a much-needed breakthrough when he had Shikhar Dhawan (56) caught by Suresh Raina at mid-on.

Dhawan hit 3 sixes and 5 fours in his 34-ball 56.

In the next over, Muralitharan trapped Tiwary (2) plumb in front of the wicket to reduce Mumbai to 96/2.

Chasing 181 to win, Tendulkar and Shikhar Dhawan brought up the Mumbai Indians’ 50 in the fifth over.

Earlier, Suresh Raina (83) and Subramaniam Badrinath (55) put up the highest third-wicket partnership in IPL to power Chennai Super Kings to 180/2.

Raina and Badrinath put up an unbeaten 142-run partnership — the second highest for any wicket in IPL.

Raina’s 83-run knock came off 52 balls and was studded with 3 sixes and 7 fours and Badrinath’s 45-ball 55 came with the help of 6 fours.

Raina reached his 50 off 32 balls and Badrinath completed his 50 in 41 balls in the 19th over with a four off Zaheer Khan.

The unbeaten stand came after Harbhajan Singh and Ryan McLaren gave Mumbai Indians a double breakthrough by dismissing Chennai Super Kings openers Matthew Hayden and Parthiv Patel respectively in successive overs.

Patel (8) edged a McLaren delivery onto his stumps in the over after bowling from round the wicket, Harbhajan Singh trapped Matthew Hayden (20) plumb in front of the wicket.

Harbhajan was introduced in the attack after Hayden hit Zaheer Khan for four consecutive fours in the first over of the match.

This was after Mumbai Indians captain Sachin Tendulkar won the toss and elected to bowl.

Mumbai Indians have not made any changes from the last match.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (Capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard, Rajagopal Sathish, Aditya Tare, Dwayne Bravo, Ryan McLaren, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Matthew Hayden, Parthiv Patel, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Thissara Perera, Joginder Sharma, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shadab Jakati.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *