No Pakistan flavour to League this time round

The Pakistan foreign ministry has put to rest the aspirations of 14 national cricketers who could have raked in quite a bit of moolah in the second auction of the Indian Premier League.

The Pakistan government announced that given the current tension with India, it wouldn’t allow any player to cross the border and play in the money-spinning Twenty20 league.

This means 10 players who were already a part of the IPL last season—Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Misbah-ul Haq and Mohammad Asif—will not be allowed to tour India this season. Out of the 10, Asif has been slapped a one-year doping ban while among the remaining nine, four players’ contracts have been suspended and five have been terminated.

The players whose contracts have been suspended are Tanvir, Akmal, Misbah and Gul. Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had provided No Objection Certificates (NOCs) to five more players to be a part of the auction this year.

However, the foreign ministry’s decision has dashed their hopes. “Six Pak contracts have been terminated (including Asif for now),” Modi said, adding that the ones that have been suspended can join their respective teams next year, provided they get a clearance from the government.

Modi further said that the franchises were given the option of suspending or terminating the contracts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *