Yuvraj Singh to lead Sahara Pune Warriors in IPL 4

India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh was named captain of the Pune Warriors squad for the fourth season of the Indian Premier League starting April 8.

The new entrant in the hugely successful league also announced its 30-member squad that includes, among others, Graeme Smith, Nathan McCullum, Wayne Parnell, Tim Paine, Jesse Ryder and Angelo Mathews.

Besides Yuvraj, Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa and Murali Kartik are the other capped players from India.

Callum Ferguson, Mitchelle Marsh, Jerome Taylor and Alfonso Thomas are also part of the squad.

“Sahara’s Pune Warriors squad has been constituted with an intention to strike a balance between experience, exuberance, international expertise and promising talent of present and future. We are confident of making a mark on the league,” said Abhijit Sarkar, Sahara’s head of corporate communications.

“The enviable support and guidance from chief coach Geoff Marsh and assistant coaches Dermot Reeve and Praveen Amre together leverage their vast and complementing experience in international cricket to make the team a force to reckon with,” he added.

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Harshad Khadiwale, Imtiyaz Ahmad, Kamran Khan, Manish Pandey, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Rahul Sharma, Sachin Rana, Shreekant Wagh and Shrikant Mundhe complete the young brigade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *